Computing and technology

Computer science

BSc or MComp

Duration
Usually 3 years, or 4 with a placement or integrated master's
Indicative selective grades
AAA–A*AA
Indicative typical grades
BBB–ABB
England home fee cap
Up to £9,790 a year, 2026 to 2027
Explore pathways for this course

Overview

Computer science studies computation: programming, algorithms, data and how software systems are built. Software engineering degrees overlap heavily and often stress large projects and professional practice. The degree is a common route into software development, and a possible route into web development, games, databases, security and data roles, depending on the modules. It is not required for every developer job. Apprenticeships exist. Students who enjoy it like solving problems in code and are willing to learn the theory, not only a single programming language.

You want a degree centred on computing, with theory and substantial programming.

Data science is more statistical. Cybersecurity is narrower. Information technology courses may be less mathematical.

People who like precise problem-solving and building software.

What you will study

Universities do not teach the same modules. The lists below are a general shape, not a syllabus.

Year 1

  • Programming
  • Computer systems
  • Mathematics for computing

Later years

  • Algorithms
  • Software projects
  • Optional specialisms

Skills

Useful before you start

  • Logical problem-solving
  • Mathematics
  • Willingness to practise programming

Developed during the degree

  • Programming
  • Abstraction
  • Testing and teamwork

Teaching and assessment

Teaching often includes Lectures, Laboratories, Projects.

Assessment often includes Exams, Coursework, Software projects.

Typical weekly commitment

  • Teaching or contactAbout 12–16 hours
  • Independent studyAbout 18–24 hours
  • TotalAbout 32–40 hours

Estimate. Project weeks are heavier than lecture weeks.

Entry requirements

Indicative patterns from published UK admissions information. Not an offer. Actual requirements vary by course, university and year. Pearson Edexcel International A Level and Cambridge International A Level are not treated as the same qualification as GCE A level.

Indicative requirements by qualification

The A-level band is the catalogue reference. IB and American lines come from the named university guides under the table. They are not a conversion every university uses, and they are not an offer.

Indicative requirements for A Levels, the IB Diploma and the American curriculum
QualificationIndicative requirements
A LevelsBBB–ABB. Mathematics is often required or strongly preferred. Computing A level is useful but rarely compulsory, because many schools do not offer it.
IB DiplomaUCL publishes 34 points for ABB. The other end of this band is not in that table. A required A-level subject must be Higher Level in UCL's rule. Each Higher Level subject in that table is at least 5. UCL equates A* to 7, A to 6 and B to 5. This is one university's table.
American curriculumThat Manchester guide gives AP 5, 4, 4 for ABB. The other end of this band is not in the guide. Bristol publishes a GPA of 3.2, or 3.4 for competitive courses, and does not use one AP pattern for every degree.

A-level subjects

Mathematics is often required or strongly preferred. Computing A level is useful but rarely compulsory, because many schools do not offer it.

Often recommended: Mathematics, Computer Science.

Useful preparation: Physics, Further Mathematics.

GCSE and IGCSE

Mathematics and often a science at GCSE or IGCSE are commonly requested for engineering and computing. Grades vary. International qualifications are not automatically accepted as the UK version.

Indicative UK pattern only. Not an offer. Selective engineering and mathematics courses can ask for higher grades and sometimes an admissions test.

Other ways in

  • A degree is one route into software work, not the only one.
  • NUS Bachelor of Computing is listed as an international example and uses a different admissions system.

Admissions tests and extra requirements

  • TMUA

    Used by some courses only. A mathematics reasoning test.

    Selected mathematics, economics, computer science and related courses. The list changes by year.

    Checked 2026-10-14.

    Official test site

Course costs

For many standard full-time courses in England, the home-fee maximum in 2026 to 2027 is Up to £9,790. This is the maximum standard full-time fee published for approved English providers with a TEF award and an access and participation plan. It is not the fee a named university charges, and it does not decide whether you pay home or international fees.

Clinical, laboratory and studio courses are not given a different home-fee figure here, because the regulated maximum is not the same thing as an international or clinical fee.

International tuition is set by each university and is not stored here. Clinical courses are often much higher than classroom-based courses. A school in Qatar does not decide home-fee status.

Source: Changes to tuition fees: 2026 to 2027 academic year. Retrieved 2026-10-14. Living costs, field trips and professional fees are not included.

Where you could study

UK degrees in this subject are numerous. This page does not list every university, because a list without a checked entry requirement would look more certain than it is.

No individual UK course page is stored yet for this subject. Use the university site.

Examples outside the UK

These are illustrations. Degree length, fees and entry rules are not the same as in the UK. US medicine, for example, is usually a graduate route and is not listed as an undergraduate equivalent.

  • National University of Singapore, Singapore

    Bachelor of Computing in Computer Science. Bachelor of Computing (Honours). Not stated on the programme page checked.

    Language: The programme page checked did not state the language of instruction. Do not assume every class is in English.

    NUS publishes separate requirements for Singapore-Cambridge A levels, the IB Diploma and international qualifications. Those are not UK GCE A level offers, and indicative Singapore grades must not be read as a UK grade requirement.

    Tuition was not copied.

    Checked 2026-10-14.

    Official course page

Where could this degree take you?

  • Software developer

    Common route

    A usual degree route. Portfolios and apprenticeships also exist.

  • Web developer

    Common route

    Possible. Many web developers train through other computing routes or experience.

  • Computer games developer

    Common route

    Closer if the course includes graphics and real-time programming. A games degree is an alternative.

  • Database administrator

    Alternative route

    Databases may be one module. The job also uses vendor qualifications and experience.

  • Network engineer

    Alternative route

    Networking is not the centre of every computer science degree.

  • Cyber intelligence officer

    Alternative route

    A computing degree can help. Security clearance and specialist training are separate.

  • IT security co-ordinator

    Alternative route

    Cybersecurity content and experience matter more than the general title.

  • Data scientist

    Alternative route

    Possible with statistics and machine-learning options. Not every computer science course provides them.

  • Data analyst-statistician

    Alternative route

    Statistics degrees are closer for the statistician title.

Explore your pathway

A course sits between school subjects and a career. It does not guarantee either admission or a job.

Explore pathways for this course

Open the subject planner